Skip to content


The Austrian Football League is the highest league in Austria and among the strongest American Football leagues in Europe. The sport is has attracted a considerable following over the years, with the first Austrian Bowl played in 1984 and the most recent edition in 2010 attracting 3.500 fans.

Also, Austria will host the football world championship 2011.

The current champions of Austria are the Danube Dragons, who defeated the Swarco Raiders Tirol 28 – 21 in Austrian Bowl XXVI on July 9th, 2010.

The AFL currently consists of 7 teams located in Austria and recently added one team from the Czech Republic: The Prague Panthers. To find out more about each team, follow the links below:

Carinthian Black Lions
Danube Dragons
Generali Invaders St. Pölten
Prague Panthers
Raiffeisen Vikings Vienna
Salzburg Bulls
Swarco Raiders Tirol
Turek Graz Giants

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: